Regrid on a UDO

Hello,
Probably an easy question on how to query using one user defined operator and regrid.

I started playing around with user defined operators and I was able to write one but got stuck on how can I use ‘regrid’ so that my operator will be called with different subarray as input within the same query.

Taking as an example the trades array from the example queries provided with the latest package, I can call:

"myop( project( between( trades, 10, 1000, null, 10, 9000, null ), price, volume) )"

and successfully get output an array with a single row, and 4 attributes.

{i} BSA,BSR,ASA,ASR {0} 8,8,4,4

in that example myop( ) will take as input the price and volume of all trades between 1000 and 9000 mills for the symbol_id 10

How do I change my query so that myop() will regrid() every 3000 milliseconds?

An example output would look like:

{i} BSA,BSR,ASA,ASR {0} 2,2,1,1 {1} 3,2,3,4 {2} 1,1,2,2

As a side note, a much simpler solution would be to create 4 aggregate functions (e.g. BSA(), BSR(), ASA(), and ASR() )
and then query:

but multiple arguments are not allowed.

Any suggestion how I could go ahead?

Thanks
mikej

Hi Mike

Interesting. There are two ways to proceed.

1. Open up the code for regrid (Aggregator.h), learn it, and structure your UDO to do the same thing. In other words, you’ll be re-writing a special case of regrid with a particular purpose in mind. Much of it will be copy-paste code.

2. Define four UDAs and, to go around the one argument requirement, you combine the price_volume pair into a single value. The easiest would be like

apply(array, pv, string(price)+'_'+string(volume))

And then teach your UDA to parse such strings… That’s the crude first-attempt method. That’s what I would do to start.
The better way is to define your own UDT for price-volume. We have some examples of that in the src tree (point and rational).
Multi-argument aggregates are on the roadmap for some point in the future.