Problem install: ssh localhost did not work

Dear fellow SciDB users,

I am new to Linux and I am trying to install SciDB. However I cant seem to fix the following error during installation, maybe related to this post:

[code]root using password-less ssh key ‘id_rsa’.
Hardcoding this key for use with the hosts specified in the configuration file
into your .ssh/config file.

Confirming ‘ssh localhost hostname’ works…

ssh to localhost did not work.

There was a problem ssh’ing from this host (¨mysystemname¨) to this host (localhost) as root

The ssh port 22 is available.
The ‘ssh’ daemon is running.

I have no idea what the problem is.
[/code]

I have spent the whole day without succeed :frowning: Tried to change the sshd_config, config.ini, restarting my laptop and reinstalling the ssh, none worked. Appreciate very very much if anyone can help. Many thanks!

Hadi

To be honest … from where I am? Your problem isn’t SciDB related.

Your problem seems to be that the sshd (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Secure_Shell) isn’t installed or isn’t working.

Hi Plumber,

Haha do you mean where myself is from? I am an MSc student at ITC, University of Twente, the Netherlands. I recently discovered SciDB that I can use for my analysis in my ongoing thesis, which is evaluating all 3-band spectral indices from hyperspectral data (584 bands x 584 bands x 584 bands combinations x 185 samples, R memory and even bigmemory package can’t handle, while ff is unusable as well cause R can only store array element index up to 2^32 i.e. 32 bits) in terms of predicting my response variable. Therefore, I am thinking to store the huge array of spectral indices values in SciDB and iterate for every cell (apply linear regression) with iquery from within R, and store the R2 and RMSE array in SciDb as well.