How to implement join?

I’m a freshman called Cherry from China. I want to ask 6 questions.

1. Do JoinArray and crossJoinArray implement with Hash Join or any other join?
  2. What’s the differences between JoinArray and crossJoinArray according to the usage?
  3. What’s the differences between Physical Join and Logical Join?
  4. Does Join Array run all in memory?
  5. Is there any refenences to JoinArray in SciDB,such as paper and so on?
  6. How to create a array,such as [(1,3),(2,5),(3,null),(null,null)]?

Thank you very much.

Hi Cherry!

Just a quick pre-amble. Most of your questions can be answered by reading either the documentation (where the join(…) and cross_join(…) operators are discussed, and where the build(…) operator is discussed) or by looking at the code (where your question about the implementation of join(…) can be answered). But … assuming these questions are motivated by curiosity and aren’t just homework… :wink:

1. join(…) and cross_join(…) use different algorithms. join(…) is a kind of sort-merge join. We are able to do this because we are always assured that the inputs to the joins are sorted on the join keys, because the join keys are always array dimensions. It’s worth noting that the cross_join(…) actually implements a hash-join locally (per-instance) and a kind of semi-join globally, where all of the join keys (from the smaller side) are replicated on all of the compute instances.