Best way to store data?

Hello,
we are creating a database which will store astronomical data and are not sure of the most optimized way to create and array. We have the properties ra, dec, field and various other properties of the object. What we want to find out is given the ra, dec and radius, return all the objects within that radius. The question I have is what is the best way to create this array to analyze it the quickest such as the number of dimensions, chunk size etc. I am very new to SciDB and am not entirely sure of how it stores data. Thanks.

You have a couple of options. At the moment, the best thing to do is to take your RA/DECL values, multiply them by the precision, and create an array with the integer-ized values as the dimensions:

CREATE EMPTY ARRAY Objects <
Proper_Motion_RA : int32,
Error_in_Motion_RA : int32,
Proper_Motion_DECL : int32,
Error_in_Motion_DECL : int32,
Obs_Epoch : double,
B_mag : double,
B_mag_flag : int32,
R_mag : double,
R_mag_flag : int32,
B_mag2 : double,
B_mag2_flag : int32,
R_mag2 : double,
R_mag2_flag : int32 >
[ RA=0:36000000,144000,8400, DECL=0:18000000,72000,4200];

I’ve used this kind of approach to model (say) the USNOB catalog. Now, conceptually this can be confusing. We’re inclined to think about the array as something physical. But that isn’t how SciDB treats the dimension bounds work. In this example, the RA dimension extends logically over the range 0 to 36000000: it isn’t the case that there are 36000000x18000000 cells in the array. Rather, there are as many cells in this “Objects” array as there are objects in the catalog.

Why are the RA and DECL components of the array dimensions, rather than attributes? The way to think about dimensions is as a kind of “index”. SciDB organizes the physical data in an array according to the array’s dimensions. So as your query involves ranges over the RA/DECL range, choose those as the dimensions.

What does the query look like?

AQL:

SELECT *
FROM Objects O